Hang 10... or as they now say...hit the lip!

2nd Light Forums
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Torque Wrench
Topic Summary: needs fixing
Created On: 08/29/2017 04:42 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/29/2017 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Ripper65

Posts: 2289
Joined: 12/08/2003

Anybody know of a place that can rebuild a Craftsman Sears Torque Wrench 1/2"? Mid 90's and it just started to spin.....both ways. I was thinking of maybe Sears Parts Direct on Nasa.
Thanks!!

-------------------------
________________

Well then...........DO IT!!!
 08/29/2017 05:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


tom

Posts: 5796
Joined: 07/25/2003

craftsman tools once were lifetime warrenty

take it in broke and Sears would hand you a new one

now that Sears is on the way out, who knows


https://finance.yahoo.com/news/craftmans-famous-lifetime-warranty-in-question-after-900-million-sale-202603636.html



Edited: 08/29/2017 at 05:28 AM by tom
 08/29/2017 06:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Ripper65

Posts: 2289
Joined: 12/08/2003

They don't do Torque Wrenchs.......only 1 year.

-------------------------
________________

Well then...........DO IT!!!
 08/29/2017 09:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


DaveFL76

Posts: 2707
Joined: 08/16/2003

Can torque wrenches be rebuilt? I'd be a bit apprehensive about its accuracy on a repaired one.
 08/29/2017 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Uncle Salty

Posts: 141
Joined: 09/19/2005

Take it apart and check it out yourself. You never know what your capable of fixing until you give it a try.
 08/30/2017 05:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Ripper65

Posts: 2289
Joined: 12/08/2003

They do have rebuilding kits, but there are about 300 of them. And, yes they can be rebuilt and very accuracy....it's just getting the right kit.
Just thought there might be a place that does this and they would get the right kit.

-------------------------
________________

Well then...........DO IT!!!
 08/30/2017 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


RustyTruck

Posts: 16361
Joined: 08/02/2004

http://www.searspartsdirect.co...5/0009/455.html


Looks like this one if for multiple models, check for your model #.

-------------------------
No Gods - No Masters
 08/31/2017 05:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Oceanaddict

Posts: 515
Joined: 07/25/2003

How do you calibrate it after it is repaired? 



-------------------------

It's not where you've gone that's important....
The value is derived from the Journey.

 09/01/2017 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


RobdaSlob

Posts: 209
Joined: 07/24/2003

I used to mail mine into a Sears facility that did overhauls and re-calibration.  searscalibration.com I believe is the website.  I don't know know if they do overhauls but worth a check.



-------------------------
Even a blind hog finds an occasional acorn
 09/03/2017 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Bamboo

Posts: 4839
Joined: 07/24/2003

If you don't mess with the spring loaded click mechanism you may not need to re-cal.  If you have access to a torque analyzer you can check it easily.  Also, you can use another torque wrench that is known good and couple them together, set them to the same torque somewhere in the 75-80% of scale range for the wrench you are checking, and then see if they both click or read about the same.  Lastly, you can measure the length of the handle and use dead weights or a fish type scale with the wrench on a non turning bolt (or with extension locked in vice)  to get the T= Feet x pounds, or T = inches x pounds reading.  All of these methods will get you to the "good enough" point.  Unless you are dealing with something pretty exotic or something with very low torqe readings. Torque is just an indication of bolt preload and there are a lot of factors that can affect the preload bolt to bolt - lube or dry, finish, fit, clean or corroaded, etc.  Super high precision applications actually use bolts that have indicators on them or built in strain gauges. 

BTW - I have craftsman torque wrenches and they test pretty good. I also have a couple of the harbor freight torque wrenches and they test better then I expected.  But yes, they are cheap and they feel cheap. But functionally they work.

good luck!



-------------------------

It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen.

2nd Light Forums » NPNR » Torque Wrench

Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
136219 users are registered to the 2nd Light Forums forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Basic Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2017 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Hello to Matt B